Drivers’ Wins For More Than One Team

During Malaysia FP1, Ted Kravitz raised the question of which two participating drivers had won races with three teams. The answer is Alonso (Renault/McLaren/Ferrari) and Button (Honda/Brawn/ McLaren). I thought it would be interesting to look at the limited list of drivers that have won for more than one team or constructor.

Stirling Moss (GB)         
      Vanwall 6 Incl. shared drive
      Lotus-Climax 4 Entrant: Rob Walker
      Cooper-Climax 3 Entrant: Rob Walker
      Maserati 2    
      Mercedes 1    
      Total 16    
Alain Prost (FRA)      
      McLaren 30 McLaren-TAG
      Renault 9    
      Williams-Renault 7    
      Ferrari 5    
      Total 51    
Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)      
      Mercedes 8    
      Maserati 7    
      Alfa Romeo 6 Incl. shared drive
      Lancia-Ferrari 3 Incl. shared drive
      Total 24    
Jackie Stewart (GB)      
      Tyrrell-Ford 15    
      Matra-Ford 9 See notes below
      BRM 2    
      March-Ford 1 Entrant: Tyrrell
      Total 27    
Nicki Lauda (A)      
      Ferrari 15    
      McLaren 8 McLaren-Ford
      Brabham-Alfa Romeo 2    
      Total 25    
Nelson Piquet (BR)      
      Brabham 13 Brabham-Ford
      Williams-Honda 7    
      Benetton-Ford 3    
      Total 23    
Fernando Alonso (SPA)      
      Renault 17    
      McLaren-Mercedes 4    
      Ferrari 1    
      Total 22    
Carlos Reutermann (ARG)      
      Ferrari 5    
      Brabham-Ford 4    
      Williams-Ford 3    
      Total 12    
Gerhard Berger (A)      
      Ferrari 5    
      McLaren-Honda 3    
      Benetton 2 Benetton-BMW
      Total 10    
Jody Scheckter (SA)      
      Tyrrell-Ford 4    
      Wolf-Ford 3    
      Ferrari 3    
      Total 10    
Jenson Button (GB)      
      Brawn-Mercedes 6    
      Honda 1    
      McLaren-Mercedes 1    
      Total 8    
John Surtees (GB)      
      Ferrari 4    
      Cooper-Maserati 1    
      Honda 1 ‘Hondola’
      Total 6    
Dan Gurney (USA)      
      Brabham-Climax 2    
      Porsche 1    
      Eagle-Weslake 1    
      Total 4    

Only thirteen drivers have won for three or more different constructors. Stirling Moss tops the list with five. His wins with Cooper and Lotus chassis were customer-car entries by the R.R.C. Walker Racing Team so Moss ties with Fangio and Prost on wins for four teams. Juan Manuel Fangio won World Championships with all four teams he won races for (or indeed raced for) whereas no other driver has had title-success with more than two teams.

The Jackie Stewart-Ken Tyrrell partnership netted three titles and confusing statistics. Stewart won his first title in 1969 with Matra-Ford, for Matra International, which was run by Ken Tyrrell. Unfortunately, Matra had a quaint idea the team should use Matra’s engines so the Tyrrell Racing Organisation ran customer March-Fords in ’70 until the Tyrrell cars were ready to race. So Stewart won with four constructors but two or three teams depending how one counts it. Similarly, some would argue Jenson Button has only won with two teams. Jacques Laffite won the 1977 Swedish GP and two races in ’81 for Ligier-Matra so Matra have the unique distinction of winning as a constructor and as an engine-supplier but never as both together.

In 1967, John Surtees persuaded Honda their chassis stank. It was replaced with the Honda RA300 which was designed by Lola and won on it’s debut at Monza, and was thus nicknamed the ‘Hondola’. Lancia withdrew from racing in 1955, and facing financial trouble, handed their cars and designer over to Ferrari. So Fangio won his 1956 title driving a Lancia-Ferrari.

These drivers won for two teams:

Michael Schumacher (Ger) 91 wins              
   Benetton-Ford, Benetton-Renault, Ferrari
Ayrton Senna (BR) 41 wins              
   Lotus-Renault, Lotus-Honda, McLaren-Honda, McLaren-Ford
Nigel Mansell (GB) 31 wins              
   Williams-Honda, Ferrari, Williams-Renault
Damon Hill (GB) 22 wins              
   Williams-Renault, Jordan-Mugen Honda
Kimi Räikkönen (FIN) 18 wins              
   McLaren-Mercedes, Ferrari
Jack Brabham (AUS) 14 wins              
   Cooper-Climax, Brabham-Repco
Emerson Fittipauldi (BRA) 14 wins              
   Lotus-Ford, McLaren-Ford
Graham Hill (GB) 14 wins              
   BRM, Lotus-Ford
David Coulthard (GB) 13 wins              
   Williams-Renault, McLaren-Mercedes
Mario Andretti (USA) 12 wins              
   Ferrari, Lotus-Ford
Alan Jones (AUS) 11 wins              
   Shadow-Ford, Williams-Ford
Rubens Barrichello (BRA) 11 wins              
   Ferrari, Brawn-Mercedes
James Hunt (GB) 10 wins              
   Hesketh-Ford, McLaren-Ford
Ronnie Peterson (SWE) 10 wins              
   Lotus-Ford, March-Ford
Denny Hulme (NZ) 8 wins              
   Brabham-Repco, McLaren-Ford
Jacky Ickx (BEL) 8 wins              
   Ferrari, Brabham-Ford
Rene Arnoux (FRA) 7 wins              
   Renault, Ferrari
Juan Pablo Montoya (COL) 7 wins              
   Williams-BMW, McLaren-Mercedes
Tony Brooks (GB) 6 wins              
   Vanwall (incl. shared win), Ferrari
Riccardo Patrese (ITA) 6 wins              
   Brabham-Ford, Brabham-BMW, Williams-Ford
Michele Alboreto (ITA) 5 wins              
   Tyrrell-Ford, Ferrari
Giuseppe Farina (ITA) 5 wins              
   Alfa Romeo, Ferrari
Clay Regazzoni (SWI) 5 wins              
   Ferrari, Williams-Ford
Sebastian Vettel (GER) 5 wins              
   STR-Ferrari, RBR-Renault
John Watson (GB) 5 wins              
   Penske-Ford, McLaren-Ford
Bruce McLaren (NZ) 4 wins              
   Cooper-Climax, McLaren-Ford
Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) 3 wins              
   Jordan-Ford, Renault
Heinz-Harald Frentzen (GER) 3 wins              
   Williams-Renault, Jordan-Mugen Honda
Johnny Herbert (GB) 3 wins              
   Benetton-Renault, Stewart-Ford
Didier Pironi (FRA) 3 wins              
   Ligier-Ford, Ferrari
Patrick Depailler (FRA) 2 wins              
   Tyrrell-Ford, Ligier-Ford
Pedro Rodríguez (MEX) 2 wins              
   Cooper-Maserati, BRM
Jo Siffert (SWI) 2 wins              
   Lotus-Ford, BRM
Maurice Trintignant (FRA) 2 wins              
   Ferrari, Cooper-Climax

Although differently named, Sebastian Vettel’s win with Scuderia Toro Rosso before his Red Bull Racing victories was with a different team but the same constructor, and the only example of this.

Mika Hakkinen holds the record of twenty wins with one team (McLaren-Mercedes) without ever winning for another. Other World Champions that have won races only for one team are Alberto Ascari (who never finished a race for another team), Mike Hawthorn, Phil Hill, Jim Clark (who only raced for Lotus), Jochen Rindt, Keke Rosberg, Jacques Villeneuve and Lewis Hamilton.

In 1954, Juan Manuel Fangio was due to drive for Mercedes but the car was not ready. So he drove and won two races for Maserati before joining Mercedes to win another five races and the title. In 1958, Stirling Moss won the season opener in Argentina in a Cooper-Climax winning three more races that season with Vanwall, but was runner-up to Mike Hawthorn despite Hawthorn only winning one race. John Surtees won his last race for Ferrari at Spa ’66 before leaving after one dispute too many, subsequently winning the last round of the season in Mexico in a Cooper-Maserati.

Jim Clark is the only driver to win races with one team and three different engine makes, Lotus-Climax, Lotus-BRM and Lotus-Ford.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: