2010 Laps Completed and Led

You would have thought by now that I would have run out of things to count, but I decided to look at laps and distance completed so far this season. The graph represents distance based on multiplying the laps each driver completed at each circuit by the circuit-lengths (which I did using a spreadsheet). The total number of laps is 737, the total distance (I decided to round to the nearest unit in these results and obviously part-laps before a retirement are not included) 2264 miles or 3643 kilometres.

The main thing that stands out is that the Ferrari drivers have only missed three laps between them; Alonso retired in Malaysia with his gearbox-engine problem on the penultimate lap, and Massa finished a lap down in Canada. There is not much to choose between the next seven drivers, Rubens Barrichello and drivers from McLaren, Red Bull and Mercedes. Generally, Rubens apart, the top-four teams are not just faster but also a bit more consistent, with them being more often on the lead-lap at the end only being a partial explanation. Sauber had obvious reliability problems aplenty earlier, but it is still surprising to see their drivers languishing behind even most the new-team drivers. Bearing in mind Chandhok managed one lap in Bahrain and has missed the last two races, that he is still a few places off the bottom is something.

You will notice that Barrichello, Hulkenberg, Button, and Rosberg are all higher on distance than on laps; this is because the Williams drivers and Jenson lost a lot of laps at easily the shortest circuit of the calendar, Monaco, and Rosberg at Hungary which is shortish. Robert Kubica went the longest without failing to complete a lap. By the time of his drive-shaft failure on lap 19 of the British GP, he had managed the first 567 laps of the season.

The European GP at Valencia had the highest number of finishers on the lead-lap at sixteen, helped by a safety-car after the Webber-Kovalainen incident on lap nine. The races in Germany and Hungary, the latter of which also had an early safety-car period, both had the least, with only six cars on the lead-lap by the end.

The worst comparative performance between team-mates is at STR, with Buemi having only managed 80·2% the laps and 78·8% the distance of Alguersuari. S├ębastien had accidents on lap one in Australia and China, and retired with only one lap on the board at Hockenheim with accident-damage. Factoring out the last three races at HRT to look at before Yamamoto displaced either Senna or Chandhok, Bruno had only completed 70·0% the laps and 69·7% the distance of his Indian team-mate, but that can mostly be attributed to reliability issues.

Below are the laps and distance completed by teams. (I did think of doing another graph, but the one I did for drivers, I could not find anything easy to set up that I liked, or would show miles and kilometres, so I did something myself using image-editors, which took hours of frustrating fiddling about, with a result I am not that taken with, so no more graphs until further notice).

(Gigantic thanks to Jackie (Saltire of Viva F1 fame), of whom I asked advice about graphs, and unbidden has been hugely kind in providing this excellent graph to add to this post.)

                      
Ferrari     4519     7271     1471    
Mercedes     4203     6763     1367    
McLaren     4235     6813     1348    
Red Bull     4192     6745     1373    
Williams     4009     6451     1269    
Renault     3867     6222     1274    
F. India     3848     6190     1260    
Toro Rosso     3645     5864     1184    
Lotus     3238     5210     1051    
HRT     3195     5140     1043    
Virgin     2920     4698     962    
Sauber     2634     4238     854    
                   
Maximum     4529     7287     1474    

The obvious shocker is Sauber being rock bottom, having done only 58·1% of the maximum distance. Of the new teams, Lotus have the edge despite struggling with reliability earlier on, and Virgin need to pick up their game.

Finally, a table of laps led.

Mark Webber     314
Sebastian Vettel     189
Jenson Button     82
Lewis Hamilton     56
Felipe Massa     40
Fernando Alonso     39
Nico Rosberg     16
S├ębastien Buemi     1

My only observation on this is that only one lap was led by an unexpected driver, courtesy of Buemi staying out longest in Canada. In the days of refueling, we more often had unusual drivers leading here and there during the season, and Montreal was the race that saw the front-runners make more than one stop.

3 Responses to “2010 Laps Completed and Led”

  1. jackie Says:

    Nice data Sebastian. I have been having a bit of a play around with the teams lap data to try and draw a graph that’s easy to interpret (I failed) and I can see why it took you hours, there is just no simple way to do it.

    Here’s what I have come up with so far, for the miles and km data but I haven’t managed to get the km data values added to the graph. http://i34.tinypic.com/34pcab5.jpg

    I need to play around some more, I’ll let you know how I get on.

    • Sebastian X Says:

      That’s a nifty graph, Jackie. How did you get the sloping text on the team names? Can I just ask if you are planning your own post on this subject or can I pinch it to put in this post?

      I built my graph by doing a table, chopping it up in Paint, creating a graph in Paint (which took ages), trying to piece it all together, then discovering the table gave most lines seventeen pixels but some only 16 so it did not line up when I put it all together. So I had to do a load of fiddly chopping and joining to get something coordinated. Live and learn.

      I did half-write an e-mail to you but I am very busy until tomorrow evening so I will finish it then I hope.

  2. jackie Says:

    Hi Sebastian. You can certainly nick the graph, I’m not palnning on doing anything similar… sorry I couldn’t manage to do all 3 on the two axis (unless you want 3 graphs ;) )

    The sloping text is a feature of Excel under “alignment”. If you have Excel and you let me know the version I can do a screen dump type of tutorial thing to show you how I did it, if that would be any use?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

